Visit Us on FaceBook! Email Us


About Us

The Board of Elections is charged with the administration of elections and the coordination of voter registration in Tompkins County. We supervise all federal, county, city, town, and village elections. We also provide technical and legal assistance to school and fire districts. The Board of Elections is a bipartisan office comprised of two appointed Commissioners representing the state's major political parties. Our office includes a professional and dedicated staff of equal party representation.


Tompkins County Board of Elections Staff:

Elizabeth W. Cree - Republican Commissioner of Elections
Kari Stamm - Republican Deputy Commissioner of Elections
Jennifer Terpening - Republican Senior Elections Clerk
Grace McMenamin - Republican Senior Machine Technician

Stephen M. DeWitt - Democratic Commissioner of Elections
Tom M. Paolangeli - Democratic Deputy Commissioner of Elections
Laura Norman - Democratic Senior Elections Clerk
Jim Gustafson - Democratic Senior Machine Technician


Mission Statement: We believe an individual's most important right of citizenship is your right to vote. The Board of Elections remains committed to protecting your right and to promote fair, open, and accessible elections.


Annual Reports